Skip to main content

Home  About Our School  Our Team  Curriculum  Community  Learning Zone  Parents  Governors  News  Contact Us  Site Map   
Meeting Individual Needs
Arts Education
Adventure Learning
Rights Respecting Schools
End of Key Stage 2 & 4 Re

In the early years and Key Stage one class Catbells, children get used to the routines of school life. There is close and ongoing liaison with parents and carers to ensure there is a smooth transition into the school. Some children join the school just before they are three years old, others might join us for their second year of nursery, or at reception class age, or at any other point. Learning through play and exploration is the key to developing all other skills, and communication, physical and independence skills, and outdoor learning are particularly important. Some children will develop early reading, writing and number skills, and access key stage one programmes of study within the National Curriculum. All have weekly swimming or hydrotherapy sessions, which continues throughout their school career.

The key stage two classes Bessyboot & Lingmell cover the years from seven, until eleven years old. All subjects of the National Curriculum are appropriately delivered, using a thematic approach, linking the learning in a cross-curricular way. There is a strong emphasis on ‘learning to learn’ and developing attention and concentration skills.  Some may join horse riding sessions, to support their physical development and communication skills.

The key stages three classes (Glaramara and Blencathra) cover the years from eleven to fourteen. Each year, a number of students join us from primary schools, to undertake their secondary education in our more specialised setting. Accordingly, greater emphasis is given to promoting age appropriate behaviour. Literacy and Numeracy continue to be taught whilst following a rich experience of activities and experiences within both subject and thematic approaches. Opportunities to help broaden students’ horizons beyond school are emphasised, for example visits to other towns and cities. Students start to prepare for the next stage of their school life, including transition to our ‘Sandgate at Queen Katherine’ facility

The key stage four classes (Helvellyn and Pillar) covers the years from fourteen to sixteen, and are based in specialist facilities at the Queen Katherine School, a short distance from Sandgate School. The two classes are ability grouped according to need with opportunities to learn together through the options system. There is a great emphasis on courses which lead to accreditation. All students have the opportunity to have their learning accredited, through a range of external agencies, as appropriate. The range covers entry level certificates and Transition Challenge Awards. Specialist rooms across the school are accessed, such as the PE hall, science laboratories, dance studio and design and technology rooms. A range of options are available which allow the school to meet statutory requirements and offer choice to individual pupils.

The key stage five classes (Bowfell and Scafell), sometimes referred to as the 6th form or post sixteen develop personalised timetables for learners, which allow for a mixed focus across more academic qualifications, vocational and college based work and community based studies. The ability to develop, then use, practical skills, without adult prompting, is a strong focus, in preparation for life after Sandgate. Supported work experience is developed, as part of the personalised programme.

Currently the two classes are grouped according to pupil need, which means that the curriculum and timetable of each class can be very carefully constructed to meet the needs of that specific group of young people. Pupils with SEND from mainstream schools sometimes transfer to the Sandgate 6th form, after completing year 11. Any parent/pupils interested in exploring this option should approach the special educational needs co-ordinator (SENCO) in their current school for more information.